Ethereal hope, an eternal dream

I don’t think this world was made for you.

Actually… I don’t think you were made for this world.

What cruel master decided that this be the world you wake up to,

 And call your home?

Though, despite it all, you never stopped believing and being true to who you are.

I wish this world had a system in place where it would take care of

Its old souls.

But oh, the day now grows older.

The sun is falling behind thunderous, blackening clouds,

As she sinks deep down beneath all that can only be seen

When light casts its forgiving shine.

I wish I could save you.

I wish to be your guiding angel,

Who with ethereal power could lift you up high

Above all that causes you pain,

And summons strange ocean waves

To rage and tear into your mind,

Which becomes restless and at times writhe with despair.

I know what you think to yourself in the middle of the night,

When you lie awake, and when all else is silent.

You tell yourself over and over again,

I do not belong here… I do NOT belong HERE’.

But, no matter how much or how passionately you

Quietly scream those words,

You always wake up in this same place and same world.

A purgatory as you live and breathe. One in which you

Live, grow old, and eventually die.

These are the frightful truths that terrify your dreams.

The dark hours are the only ones in which you suffer from

Fear that follows close to the reality, that exists stripped

Of all its fantasy.

So, I say again, I wish I could save you.

Perhaps a pocket universe would be best,

Where you could live in your happier dreams,

And be at peace.

-Wandering Muse, N x



Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

About Me

Hello, I am an artist living in the UK who likes to write a creative note from time to time, commenting on the observations I’ve made, experiences I’ve had, and the sensitivities over certain themes and topics. I enjoy small moments, seeking significance and beauty in the otherwise mundane.

Newsletter

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started