Living Away from Home

Living away from home, from the place where you grew,

and away from everything you understood.

It gets lonesome, and I find that nostalgia comes easily,

as it creeps up on you subtly like the pitter-patter of rain,

washing over your back leaving a flurry of goosebumps

and prickly skin.

I see visions through the delicate petals of a flower,

the scent of freshly baked scones, and the distant siren cries of

seagulls.

The list is long, rain-speckled, and tea-stained

as it exists peacefully within the heart of my mind.



Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

About Me

Hello, I am an artist living in the UK who likes to write a creative note from time to time, commenting on the observations I’ve made, experiences I’ve had, and the sensitivities over certain themes and topics. I enjoy small moments, seeking significance and beauty in the otherwise mundane.

Newsletter

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started